Douglas Fairbanks: A Modern Musketeer, A Collection of Eleven Modern Films

Douglas Fairbanks: 11 Silent Films [Cover]

List Price: $89.95

Our Price: $69.95

Add To Cart

Director: John Emerson Christy Cabanne Paul Powell Allan Dwan Victor Fleming Theodore Reed Fred Niblo
Featuring: Douglas Fairbanks
Composers : Eric Beheim Philip Carli Frederick Hodges Robert Israel Rodney Sauer Mont Alto Motion Picture Orchestra Franklin Stover
Year: 1916-1921
Length: 760 minutes
Format: DVD-9: NTSC
Region: Region 0
Language: Silent with English Intertitles

Douglas Fairbanks came from Broadway to the movies in 1915 when high salaries were luring well-known stage actors to the new feature-length pictures. Although most of these performers failed to “register” on camera and returned to New York, Fairbanks quickly became a supernova. His energetic, optimistic character, his ingratiating smile, his graceful, acrobatic stunts (he did his own), clever writing, and accomplished staging rapidly made Fairbanks one of the most admired stars in the world. In 1917, Fairbanks established his own production company. In 1919, together with Charles Chaplin, Mary Pickford and D. W. Griffith, Fairbanks formed United Artists Corporation. Douglas Fairbanks: A Modern Musketeer includes eleven of the joyful modern-dress comedies, westerns, satires, dream-fantasies and romances which, though mostly seldom-seen, made Fairbanks a tremendously popular hero. In addition to Fairbanks' unique talent, these ebullient films showcase his gifted collaborators including writer Anita Loos and directors Allan Dwan, Victor Fleming, and John Emerson. Beginning with 4 films from 1916 by Triangle-Fine Arts:His Picture in the Papers, The Mystery of the Leaping Fish, Flirting With Fate, and The Matrimaniac, the collection continues with 3 films produced by Fairbanks for Artcraft/Famous Players-Lasky Corp.: Wild and Wooly (1917), Reaching for the Moon (1917), and A Modern Musketeer (1918). Last are 4 features Fairbanks produced for United Artists: When Clouds Roll By (1919), The Mollycoddle (1920), The Mark of Zorro (1920), and The Nut (1921).

On the Discs - Galleries of rare stills from Douglas Fairbanks' personal collection at the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences as well as an audio commentary on A Modern Musketeer 32 Page Booklet - An extensive booklet essay by Jeffrey Vance and Tony Maietta, authors of the biography, Douglas Fairbanks (Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences/University of California Press, 2008)

No one has commented yet.

Copyright 2014, Flicker Alley, LLC - For any questions please email